Summer Game Fest Is ‘Primarily Focused’ on Already-Announced Games

The Summer Game Fest showcase is “primarily focused” on already announced games and will only feature “a couple of new game announcements”.

Presenter Geoff Keighley shared the news on Twitter in an audio stream transcribed by Video Games Chronicle, during which he told fans to “definitely manage your expectations” ahead of the E3-style showcase, which features games from multiple developers and publishers.

“We’ve got a couple of new game announcements in the show and hopefully some surprises if everything holds,” Keighley said, “but it definitely is a show that’s primarily focused on stuff that is announced.

“We’re doing some good stuff for you but definitely manage your expectations in terms of the megaton shocks that you’re expecting. This is not The Game Awards. We’ve got lots of good stuff to show you but buyer beware of some of the crazy rumors I’m seeing out there in terms of things people expect to get announced.”

Keighley insisted that Summer Game Fest will still have great announcements, of course, using the Elden Ring trailer and release date revealed last year as an example of how new information about an already announced game can be just as exciting as something brand new.

Keighley also confirmed Dead Space’s spiritual successor The Callisto Protocol would make an appearance alongside Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2, Gotham Knights, Cuphead: The Delicious Last Course, and Fortnite.

Alongside the Elden Ring release date, last year’s Summer Game Fest revealed Tiny Tina’s Wonderlands, Metal Slug Tactics, Death Stranding Director’s Cut, and more.

This year’s edition takes place on June 9 at 11am Pacific / 2pm Eastern / 7pm UK (so June 10 at 4am AEST) and can be viewed live on IGN as part of our Summer of Gaming.

Ryan Dinsdale is an IGN freelancer who occasionally remembers to tweet @thelastdinsdale. He’ll talk about The Witcher all day.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.